Twitter will now let you ‘unmention’ yourself to leave a conversation


Mentions on Twitter are some thing of a double-edged sword. On a person hand, it is an quick way to consist of a buddy in a dialogue or share information with a person else. On the other hand, if a person mentions your Twitter username even the moment in a dialogue, you may get notifications for responses that have almost nothing to do with you for hrs or times. In buy to fix this issue, Twitter is introducing a new “unmention” characteristic.

Twitter rolls out unmention feature to everyone

As Twitter’s security team discussed in a tweet, the unmention element gives you the capacity to leave a conversation. To use the feature, open the Twitter app and head to Mentions. Tap on the a few dots on a tweet in which your username is mentioned. Now faucet on the button that reads “Leave this discussion,” which will pull up a new page. The new web page clarifies what comes about when you make a decision to leave a conversation on Twitter:

  • Untag your username: Your username stays, but it’ll be untagged from the original Tweet and all replies.
  • Prevent long term mentions: People cannot point out you once again in this conversation.
  • Halt notifications: You won’t get further more notifications, but can however see the dialogue.

You will have one particular past chance to again out, or you can just affirm that you want Twitter to unmention you. As noted earlier mentioned, your username will nevertheless surface in the tweet, but it will no extended link to your account. The bombardment of notifications will end.

This is just just one way that Twitter is hoping to give customers additional ways to protect them selves from harassment. Final thirty day period, Twitter disclosed that it experienced began screening a feature that prompted people to reconsider Tweet replies with harmful language. Twitter says that people in the US who observed the prompt transformed or deleted their replies above 30% of the time.

Of study course, if these measures are not cutting it, you can generally delete your account.





Supply connection